Home > Polish history > Poland talk on New Criterion site

Poland talk on New Criterion site

It is not my intention to change this blog into a sort of “Poland-on-the-internet watch”. But since the moment I started it, I can’t help but post everytime an English language item of the type does pop up somewhere. Hopefully, sooner or later, I’ll get over it and just stick to music. For the time being, you have to be patient. :oops: And I do promise to get back to my primary subject: sharing thoughts and information about my favorite Polish pieces and composers, very soon.

Why the introduction? Well, because here I go again – veering away ostensibly from the musical subjects that this blog’s address promises. But there really is a lengthy post about Polish 20th century music just ahead, hold on.

In the meantime, while you wait, why not listen to a New Criterion “audiocast” about Poland: John O’Sullivan (author of The President, the Pope, and the Prime Minister: Three Who Changed the World, and one time Special Adviser to Margaret Thatcher),  talks about his short stay there (some time in October 2007), about John Paul II, Lech Walesa (whose name he mispronounces in an especially funny way by changing it into Valesca), Yalta, Katyn, the Warsaw Uprising, and current Polish politics. So it’s politics, modern history and the like (but mostly politics) again, sorry.😳

Before you begin, a word of warning: O’Sullivan’s is a strictly conservative point of view. And while The New Criterion’s conservatism rarely exits the realm of arts and philosophy, this talk does touch on politics quite a bit. So, if you have a special aversion to conservatism, you may as well skip this. And frankly, this isn’t the most ravishing talk I’ve ever heard anyway – but then, generally speaking, I’m not exactly the sort of person who gets all excited about politics. I’ve decided to post it anyway because, first of all – someone might like it, and secodnly – it’s not every day that a major New York art magazine airs (into the web) a talk about Poland. (OK, OK, I admit it: I’m partial to The New Criterion in general.)

I just found the webcast today, don’t know how long it’s been there. The New Criterion has a new site that is much easier to navigate than the previous one, so perhaps this is something very old – but it may be a new addition that came along with the makeover. Here you go:

John O’Sullivan on Poland and the Cold War, from an evening with the Friends of The New Criterion.

  1. Jezetha
    2 May 2008 at 20:51

    I remember the Thatcher era and John O’Sullivan (vaguely).

    I don’t mind you posting things about Polish politics – I like this blog rapidly becoming the one-stop Polish Information Centre on the Web…😉

  2. maciek
    2 May 2008 at 21:28

    “the one-stop Polish Information Centre on the Web”

    Ha, ha, ha!🙂

    What I’m afraid of is that if I continue in this direction two things will happen:
    1) I’ll be spending too much time here, repasting every single vaguely interesting link I find😉
    2) My posts will become more, and more, and more tangential to the main topic of this blog.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

