Home > Polish performers > I never practice for interpretation

I never practice for interpretation

Well, I know it’s been a while but I’ve been away. This week we spent a couple of days in Sandomierz where I attended a linguistic conference (I hate conferences in general, and this one hasn’t made me change my mind🙄 but at least the town turned out to be beautiful – much prettier than I remembered😀 ). And the week before we went to Toruń (one of our favorite towns in Poland) where my wife had some interpreting work to do (at the KONTAKT theatre festival).

I have a lot of catching up to do (have to finish writing my last chapter next week!😯 ) so just a short entry today: while searching the internet for other interesting interviews, I found a rather uninteresting old one with Ewa Podleś. Uninteresting, save for one astounding revelation:

“I don’t have problems interpreting the music – never,” she said. “When I’m warmed up and ready to sing, it comes. I don’t need to practice, unless it’s a cadenza or something technical like that. Never for interpretation.”

Huh?😮 And didn’t Zimerman say something similar in one or two of the interviews I linked to earlier? That he didn’t really play the pieces at all until the final concert…? A pattern seems to be emerging…😈😆

You can read the whole Podleś interview here. But it really isn’t much – so don’t say I didn’t warn you.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

