Polish Focus! 2011

Just a quick heads-up for those who will be in NYC or vicinity Jan. 22-28 (2011): The main focus of Juilliard’s Focus! festival next year will be Polish modern and contemporary music! You can read more about it in an article by Joel Sachs. Or go straight to the calendar of events (more to be announced, I am told). Looks like a really great program, including both the Polish modern music warhorses (what a contradiction in terms!) and stuff that probably isn’t very widely known abroad (both contemporary and slightly less contemporary). Wish I could be there. No, seriously: a lot of the music I’ve never heard live, and would love to. (Wait a minute, that doesn’t make much sense. If I ever do visit the States, I seriously doubt whether I’ll be spending a lot of time listening to Polish contemporary music.)

My thanks go to Bruce Hodges for alerting me about this.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

